The Fayetteville Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (FAMPO) was established in 1975 as a result of the Federal Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1973. Any Urbanized Area (UZA) with a population greater than 50,000 is designated as an MPO. Any UZA greater that 200,000 is also designated as a Transportation Management Area (TMA). The Fayetteville MPO is also a TMA. The Census Bureau establishes UZA boundaries. For the past thirty years, the FAMPO Planning Area included the City of Fayetteville, the Towns of Hope Mills and Spring Lake, Fort Bragg Military Reservation, Pope Army Airfield, the urban portion of Cumberland County, and a portion of Harnett County. After the 2010 census, the Planning Area was expanded and now includes portions of Cumberland County, Harnett County, Hoke County, and Robeson County, for a total Planning Area population of approximately 372,000.

All decisions of the MPO are made by the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) with recommendations from the Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) and the Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC). The membership and voting structures of these committees are established through a Memorandum of Understanding between all of the participating governments for the TPB and TCC and through bylaws adopted by the TPB for the CAC. For more information, view the organizational structure or the transportation planning process of the MPO.

Citizen Advisory Committee Members - Agendas and Minutes

As of 5-24-2017
Mr. Rusty Thompson, Chair
Ms. Pamela Presser, Vice-Chair
Ms. Glenda Dye
Mr. Justin Hall
Mr. Pate Hodges
Mr. Melvin E. Lewis
Ms. Ann Locklear
Ms. Tracey Pittman
Ms. Alison Van Nyhuis
Ms. Vernorine E. Young


Transportation Coordinating Committee - Agendas and Minutes

As of 5-24-2017
Mr. Lee Jernigan, Jr, PE, Chair
Mr. James Caldwell, Vice Chair
Mr. Dennis Baxley
Ms. Amy Cannon
Ms. Letitia Edens
Mr. Ricky Harris
Mr. Kim Nazarchyk
Mr. Jon Parsons
Mr. Tad Davis
Mr. Thomas J. Lloyd
Mr. Randy Hume
Mr. Michael Gibson
Mr. Jeff Brown
Mr. Bradley Whited
Ms. Karen Hilton, AICP
Mr. Mike Rutan
Ms. Janet Robertson
Mr. Mark Locklear
Mr. H. Mark Whitley
Mr. Rob Stone
Ms. Hanah Ehrenreich
Mr. Andrew Spendlove
Mr. Timothy Shea
Mr. Greg Burns, PE
Mr. Darius Sturdivant, PE
Mr. Adolph Thomas
Mr. Travis Morgan
Mr. Frank D. West, Jr.
Ms. Hemal Shah
Mr. Ron Lucas
Mr. Bryan Kluchar, PE
Ms. Bonetta Rogers
Ms. Melissa Adams
Ms. Tajsha LaShore


Transportation Policy Board - Agendas and Minutes

As of 5-24-2017
Mayor Jackie Warner - Town of Hope Mills, Chair
Mayor John K. McNeill, III - City of Raeford, Vice-Chair
Mr. Mitchell Colvin - City of Fayetteville, Council Member
Commissioner Lance Herndon - Robeson County
Mr. Randy Lee - Town of Eastover, Council Member
Mr. Terry Hutchens - NC Board of Transportation, Division 6
Mr. Ron Lucas- Federal Highway Administration
Mayor Al McMillan - Town of Parkton
Mr. Ted Mohn - City of Fayetteville, Council Member
Mr. Patrick Molamphy - NC Board of Transportation, Division 8
Mr. Erik Mitchell, Representative of Commander, Fort Bragg
Commissioner Harry Southerland - Hoke County
Commissioner Howard Penny- Harnett County
Ms. Fredricka Sutherland- Town of Spring Lake, Alderwoman
Vacant - Cumberland County